Amidst a pandemic and civil unrest, a family visit.

JULY 28, 2020

For our anniversary, tired of hearing my annual whining about having to repair / refurnish our K-Mart gas grill, my wife bought me a high end item. For Father’s Day, I received grill tools from my daughter and son-in-law . Today and tomorrow they are...For our anniversary, tired of hearing my annual whining about having to repair / refurnish our K-Mart gas grill, my wife bought me a high end item. For Father’s Day, I received grill tools from my daughter and son-in-law . Today and tomorrow they are visiting from out of state. They are the first people other than my wife for whom I’ve had the pleasure of cooking since the pandemic began.

Tonight’s menu is that posted above. Tomorrow night will be:

image

Yeah, I’m humble bragging. But dang it’s good to serve someone again. NB – Yes, on tonight’s menu I misspelled “vermouths,” and the lamb loin chops were a added, and then dropped, when other guests I thought might be stopping by tonight decided to come by tomorrow. The Pinot was the 2014 Chateau St. Jean, I did the Green Goddess dressing with a touch of jalapeno, and we couldn’t even make it to the sparkling wine or following drinks.

JULY 28, 2020

USDA FOUND NO WRONG-DOING, SAYS MEAT INSTITUTE PRESIDENT “ Capt. Louis Renault: I’m shocked, shocked, that there is gambling in this establishment. Waiter: Sir, here are your winnings. “Casablanca,” 1942 ”

USDA FOUND NO WRONG-DOING, SAYS MEAT INSTITUTE PRESIDENT

Capt. Louis Renault: I’m shocked, shocked, that there is gambling in this establishment.

Waiter: Sir, here are your winnings.

“Casablanca,” 1942

JULY 27, 2020

natotack:

odinsblog:

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

67 minutes.

image

remember his mother’s name too: Mamie Till Mobley

she worked tirelessly for *decades* after his death to make sure that he and other victims of racial violence would not be ignored or forgotten

Off topic, but…

Remember

(via modern-politics111)

JULY 23, 2020

How Has the Pandemic Affected Food Prices? (Click the “headline” to link to the article on the National Farmers Union blog) We can all readily see the impact on restaurants and their staff, but the structural changes behind that are less readily...

How Has the Pandemic Affected Food Prices?

(Click the “headline” to link to the article on the National Farmers Union blog)

We can all readily see the impact on restaurants and their staff, but the structural changes behind that are less readily visible. And then, there is this graphic:

image

Lobster? We have lobster farms? Folks, I follow commercial aquaculture but pretty loosely, and don’t believe I’ve posted on the topic for awhile, but did any of you know about this?

JULY 21, 2020
Dear Science Side of Tumblr:

image

Well, I’m back from my always too short sojourn on the prairie, but I want to thank all of you who responded to my recent “Shout Out” for help. Special thanks to herestothehalcyon and yikesalert. The material available on the web on an open source basis is incredible. I was really pushing for open source textbooks and materials about 15 years ago, but where they’ve really been a hit is not in the U.S. or developed Anglophone world, but in developing countries!

Now I just need to gather the energy to practice what I’m learning.

The support is really appreciated.

JULY 21, 2020

lady-em:

northernlib:

Trump’s unidentified secret police force was not prepared to meet this guy.

image

I plan to be in Portland sometime next week. To enter and occupy a city, without the request of either Mayor or Governor, should chill everyone – including Conservatives if there are any true Conservatives left – to the bone. The precedent is now established. The next “Occupy” movement will be just that.

(via pacificnorthwestdoodles)

JULY 18, 2020

This is not promising…

ICE is holding a citizens academy in Chicago. Mayor, lawmakers say ‘vigilantes’ aren’t welcome

image

Off topic, but…

A shoutout to my niece whose FB post brought this to my attention. If you know 20th C. European history this will come as a concern to you. If you don’t, this article might help.

If you do not concur, I would welcome a dialogue. Basic question: am I being alarmist?

JULY 16, 2020

terryfuck:

image
image
image
image
image
image

this is 100% why i never fucked with that “normcore” nonsense and why i’m still extremely self-conscious about what i wear and how my clothes fit, even after my weight loss. wearing “normal” clothes only becomes “fashion” when it’s on skinny attractive people and once it’s on a fat person it’s suddenly the trappings of the tacky and the unwashed poors. fuck out of here. you can make anything look good.

Nothing I can add.

(via gardencorekid)

JULY 15, 2020

Most Americans believe Russia targeted U.S. soldiers, want sanctions in response – Reuters/Ipsos pollOff topic, but….

Sometimes I have to veer into international relations, particularly with Russia or Eastern Europe. Trump has yet to condemn this, and “Moscow Mitch” McConnell has yet to call him out.

Tumbloggers are good about calling out the U.S. when it steps over a moral line. This is another time to do so.

(Source: modern-politics111)

JULY 14, 2020

Farmers and animal rights activists are coming together to fight big factory farms I can’t imagine Democrats making substantial gains in farm country, but if they do, this may be the wedge issue.

Farmers and animal rights activists are coming together to fight big factory farms

I can’t imagine Democrats making substantial gains in farm country, but if they do, this may be the wedge issue.

Liked posts on Tumblr:More liked posts »

Leave a comment